Site Directory – Add/Remove site categories


Last week I was spending a 2-day session about Moss 2007 with a customer mapping their organizational structure into Site Directories and other stuff.
This was not shocking but when I wanted to create a new site I didn’t saw on the ‘Create New Site’ page my custom categories anymore. This is pretty bad because otherwise when you create a new site you need to add manually a new link to this site in the ‘sites’ list.
 
What happened, I removed the originally Site Directory and created a new one. But I didn’t tell Sharepoint on Site Collection level which site was my new Site Directory. When removing the original Site Directory, I actually broke down the link from the Site Collection to the Site Directory. Sharepoint was not been able to determine which site was my Site Directory site in which he can find the specific category metadata.
 
Solution: Just go to your "Site Collection Administration" page, then go to "Site Directory Settings" and provide the link to the Site Directory of your choice.
Here you can specify also if the category metadata on site level is mandatory or not when creating a new site.
This entry was posted in Sharepoint. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

